home *** CD-ROM | disk | FTP | other *** search
/ Aminet 19 / Aminet 19 (1997)(GTI - Schatztruhe)[!][Jun 1997].iso / Aminet / docs / misc / mtgpg.lha / Myths.Guide < prev    next >
Encoding:
Text File  |  1980-04-15  |  9.5 KB  |  193 lines

  1. @node start " "
  2.           '`;,,,,    `;;;;;     ,,,,,,     ,,,,,,  ,,,,    ,,,,,;
  3.             ;;;;;,     ;;;;     , ';;;    ;;   '    ;;'  ,;;  ''
  4.            ,;;';;;;   ;;;;;;   ,;  ;;;;, ;;   ,,;   ;;   ;;
  5.           ,;;' ';;;;,;'  ;;;; ,;;;' ;;;;  ';,,,;;   ;;   ';;,
  6.          ,;;'   ';;;;     ;;;; ''      ''   '''`;  ,'''    ''''''''
  7.         ,;;'      ;;;;    ;;;;.
  8.        ,;;;       ;;;;    ;;;;;.     T h e    G a t h e r i n g (TM)
  9.       ,;'''       ;;''   ````````        PLAYER GUIDE VOL 1
  10.       `            '
  11.       Top Ten Magic Myths
  12.  
  13.                 @{ "    Introduction          " Link  "intro"@} 
  14.                 @{ "    Fake Ante             " Link  "ante"@} 
  15.                 @{ "    Tug of War            " Link  "tug"@} 
  16.                 @{ "    Partnership           " Link  "pales"@} 
  17.                 @{ "    Jyhad Style           " Link  "jyhad"@} 
  18.  
  19.  @{ "    Back to Main Menu     " Link   Main @} 
  20.  @{ "    Back to Sub Menu 5    " Link  "start"@} 
  21. @endnode
  22. **--
  23. @node intro
  24.  Top Ten Magic Myths 
  25.  
  26.  Top Ten Magic: The Gathering(tm) Myths 
  27.  ATTENTION!  It's pretty obvious I haven't updated this list in 
  28.  awhile.  Well, since moving back home I just don't have the type of 
  29.  flexible net access I used to have in school.  In fact, I expect this 
  30.  account to expire at the end of this month, (I could be mistaken, but I 
  31.  doubt it). That'll rez my website, and this list.  I'll look into 
  32.  relocating it with a friend's site, but I'm looking at the end of my 
  33.  involvement with this list.  If anyone would like to discuss assuming responsibility for it,
  34.  please email me, (jpwetmiller@undergrad.math.uwaterloo.ca).  Thanks...
  35.  It's been fun.
  36.  
  37.  The list below represents 10 common misconceptions of the current Magic:
  38.  the Gathering(tm) rules and rulings.  No scientific method is used to
  39.  produce the list.  I just look through rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules 
  40.  and (sometimes) rec.games.trading-cards.magic.strategy for posts where a 
  41.  statement is made about the rules, where the statement is incorrect, (not 
  42.  hypothetical questions, actual incorrect statements).  I count up the
  43.  number of times the statement (or similar) is made, and make biased 
  44.  decisions to break ties.  Every so often I'll do a recount and change the 
  45.  top ten if needed.  Enjoy...
  46.  
  47.  Most recent article base: #59977-#60288 (approx.)  Analyzed May 11/96
  48.  
  49.  Here're the Top Ten Magic Myths...  They are all WRONG.
  50.  
  51.  @{ "    Back to Main Menu     " Link   Main @} 
  52.  @{ "    Back to Sub Menu 5    " Link  "start"@} 
  53. @endnode
  54. **--
  55. @node Dop 
  56.  Switching a Vesuvan Doppleganger during upkeep
  57.  
  58.  to another Doppleganger empowers you to switch again during 
  59.  that upkeep.
  60.  Players should consider the switching ability of the Vesuvan Doppleganger
  61.  as something that the permanent involved can do only once per 
  62.  upkeep.  Sure, you can use the ability to create a Vesuvan Doppleganger
  63.  of another Vesuvan Doppleganger (copying something), but since that 
  64.  permanent used a VDswitch that upkeep, the new Doppleganger form will see
  65.  that the permanent used a VDswitch and thus will not allow it a new
  66.  VDswitch.  Note that if there were a different creature with the same type
  67.  of switch ability, or if the VDswitch ability said something like "may 
  68.  switch one more time per upkeep" then multiple switches would theoretically
  69.  be possible.
  70.  
  71.  @{ "    Back to Main Menu     " Link   Main @} 
  72.  @{ "    Back to Sub Menu 5    " Link  "start"@} 
  73. @endnode
  74. **--
  75. @node terror
  76.  A black and blue creature can be Terror'ed
  77.  
  78.  because it is part non-black.
  79.  Such a creature might be the Skeleton Ship from the recent Ice Age 
  80.  expansion: black because its casting cost includes a (B), and blue because
  81.  its casting cost includes a (U).  Being part blue does not equate to 
  82.  being non-black. The only quality to which 'non-black' equates is the 
  83.  quality of having no (B) at all in the casting cost.  Thus, the Skeleton 
  84.  Ship is black, (or, not non-black), and ergo cannot be Terror'ed.
  85.  
  86.  @{ "    Back to Main Menu     " Link   Main @} 
  87.  @{ "    Back to Sub Menu 5    " Link  "start"@} 
  88. @endnode
  89. **--
  90.  
  91.  The Crown of the Ages can change what creature is being copied by Dance of 
  92.  Many.
  93.  The misunderstanding here lies in assuming that targetting a creature as
  94.  part of an enchantment's effect and targetting a creature as part of an
  95.  enchantment's nature are the same.  They're not.  Dance of Many, (and
  96.  Icy Prison and Oubliette), is just an Enchantment that exists independently 
  97.  of any creature, (except the one it creates), even though it requires an 
  98.  initial target creature.  Dance of Many requires that creature when it is 
  99.  cast in order to satisfy its initial effect.  Enchant Creatures are 
  100.  different in that you must bind its existence to that of some creature in 
  101.  play when cast.  When the creature to which it is bound goes away, so does 
  102.  that Enchant Creature.  The Crown of the Ages only works on the latter type 
  103.  of enchantment, not the former (under which falls Dance of Many).
  104.  
  105.  It is possible to cast fast effects between a
  106.  Wheel of Fortune and an immediately following Fork of the Wheel of 
  107.  Fortune.
  108.  
  109.  If both Wheels are in the same stack of effects, then when one is allowed
  110.  to resolve, (causing all players to discard hands and draw seven new cards),
  111.  all must be allowed to resolve without any interruption.  However, it has
  112.  been theorized that if somehow the first Wheel of Fortune caused the
  113.  destruction of a creature/permanent in play, an immediate damage-prevention
  114.  step would be inserted in the middle of the resolution of the Fork'ed Wheel,
  115.  allowing casting of damage-prevention instants, as well as any interrupts,
  116.  between the two Wheels.  But as yet, no one has been able to come up with a 
  117.  possible application of this theory.
  118.  
  119.  Multiple Farrel's Mantles are 
  120.  cumulative.
  121.  Farrel's Mantle is an Enchant Creature that can endow a creature with a 
  122.  very specific "if not blocked" ability.  This ability, if granted twice or
  123.  more to the same creature, does not accumulate.  The ability is only 
  124.  usable once. However, this "if not blocked" ability can accumulate with 
  125.  other distinct "if not blocked" abilities.  For example, Farrel's 
  126.  Mantle on a Farrel's Zealot can deal out lots of damage if not blocked.
  127.  
  128.  One can Deflect a Fire Covenant so that it
  129.  damages an opponent.
  130.  Fun with Deflection.  Actually, Deflection must maintain the integrity of
  131.  the original target type with the new target.  In other words, since Fire
  132.  Covenant specifically can only target creatures, it can only be Deflect'ed
  133.  to creatures and not to players.
  134.  
  135.  Maze of Ith removes creatures from the
  136.  attack.
  137.  I can see why people misunderstand what happens when Maze of Ith is used.
  138.  I mean, all of a sudden the creature is looking quite unaffected by the
  139.  combat around him, why shouldn't it be considered as being removed from 
  140.  the attack?  Well, if the Maze of Ith actually did remove the creature 
  141.  from the attack, it would use the phrasing "removes creature from the 
  142.  attack."  But it doesn't, so the creature is still a part of the attack.
  143.   (Which means Maze'ing a Farrel's Zealot is no substitute for actually 
  144.  blocking it)
  145.  
  146.  An Icy Manipulator can be used to pre-empt a 
  147.  tap-cost effect in progress.
  148.  Nope.  Once a tap cost is attempted to be paid, it's paid immediately 
  149.  before anything else can be done.  An Icy is just not `fast' enough to 
  150.  stop it.  Even if the Icy was declared first, the tapping effect would 
  151.  wait for reactions before resolving, during which it is common and legal 
  152.  for the opponent to use the tap cost to activate an effect before the 
  153.  Icy's effect hits, (and fails on), that target.
  154.  
  155.  There is no way to get an Enchant Creature onto the Autumn Willow if her
  156.  controller never enables anyone to target her.
  157.  
  158.  Naturally, the Autumn Willow may not be the target of spells or effects, 
  159.  (note that special abilities of a permanent are labelled as 'effects' too)
  160.  However, the text does not disallow anyone to target her with a permanent.
  161.  The distinction is important in that Enchant Creature permanents already
  162.  in play are neither spells nor effects.  All you need is an Enchant 
  163.  Creature already in play and a spell or effect that allows you to force
  164.  that permanent to choose a new target for itself.  Enchantment Alteration 
  165.  or the special effect of Crown of the Ages works to this purpose because 
  166.  technically the only thing these two effects target is the Enchant 
  167.  Creature, in order to force that Enchant Creature to retarget onto the
  168.  Autumn Willow.  
  169.  
  170.  Discarding down to 7 cards during the discard phase is not
  171.  fast  effect.
  172.  
  173.  There has been some confusion on this one of late.  But the rulings
  174.  summaries I've checked state that the act of reducing one's hand to seven
  175.  cards is a non-interrupt fast effect declared during the discard phase.
  176.  It can be responded to, and it can be declared as a response to other 
  177.  things happening during the discard phase.  If you have to discard, you 
  178.  can't try to end the discard phase without declaring this discard effect.
  179.  FLASH Further examination of the rules newsgroup has put out further
  180.  confusion on this issue.  The latest word by the netrep is that the act 
  181.  of discarding down to 7 cards is an "at end of discard phase" thing
  182.  instead of a "during discard phase thing."  Thus, if you had a Storm 
  183.  Seeker and wanted to cast it against an opponent about to gain a lot of 
  184.  cards through Necropotence during the discard phase, that opponent cannot
  185.  respond by discarding down to 7 cards.  Ouch.  I'll try to clarify this 
  186.  as things occur.
  187.  
  188.  Well.  That's it for today.  I hope this helped.
  189.  This page last updated May 14th 1996
  190.  
  191.  John Wetmiller : jpwetmiller@undergrad.math.uwaterloo.ca
  192.  
  193.